Liberty Gets 1 Seed in Big South Tournament - - ABC13

Liberty Gets 1 Seed in Big South Tournament

From the Big South:

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – Liberty, the Big South North Division Champions, won its first Big South Baseball Regular-Season Championship since 2000 as it captured the 2014 Big South Baseball Regular-Season Title.  The Flames have earned the No. 1 seed in next week’s Big South Baseball Championship, it was determined today as the Conference season concluded this afternoon.  Liberty finished the season with a 23-3 Big South record.

--------- To see the bracket CLICK HERE -----------

Winthrop won the Big South’s South Division Championship to earn the No. 2 seed in the Big South Championship.  The Eagles finished the season with a 14-13 Big South record.  Campbell earned the No. 3 seed with an 18-8 record in League play and High Point finished at No. 4 with an 18-9 Conference mark.  Radford will be the No. 5 seed as it finished the Big South season with a 17-10 record.  Coastal Carolina garnered the sixth seed as it completed League play with a 13-13 record.  Charleston Southern’s 12-14 record was good for the No. 7 seed and Gardner-Webb rounds out the seeding with an 11-15 Conference mark.

The 2014 Big South Baseball Championship features the top eight teams in the League regardless of Division and will be played on the campus of Winthrop University in Rock Hill, S.C.  The tournament begins on Tuesday, May 20 and ends with the Championship game on May 24.   The Championship will air on the Big South Network, with the semifinals and the winner take all championship game airing exclusively on ESPN3.  The Big South’s Tournament champion receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Baseball Championship.  The Conference Championship schedule is as follows:

Tuesday, May 20 (Watch: Big South Network)
Game 1: #2 Winthrop vs. #7 Charleston Southern, 9:30am
Game 2: #3 Campbell vs. #6 Coastal Carolina, 45 minutes after conclusion of Game 1 
Game 3: #1 Liberty vs. #8 Gardner-Webb, 4:30pm
Game 4: #4 High Point vs. #5 Radford, 45 minutes after conclusion of Game 3

Wednesday, May 21 (Watch: Big South Network)
Game 5: Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 2, 9:30am
Game 6: Loser Game 3 vs. Loser Game 4, 45 minutes after conclusion of Game 5
Game 7: Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2, 4:30pm
Game 8: Winner Game 3 vs. Winner Game 4, 45 minutes after conclusion of Game 7

Thursday, May 22 (Watch: Big South Network)
Game 9: Winner Game 5 vs. Loser Game 7, 3:00pm 
Game 10: Winner Game 6 vs. Loser Game 8, 45 minutes after conclusion of Game 9 |

Friday, May 23
Game 11: Winner Game 8 vs. Winner Game 9, 10:00am  (Watch: ESPN 3)
Game 12: Winner Game 7 vs. Winner Game 10, 45 minutes after conclusion of Game 11 (Watch: ESPN 3)
Game 13: if necessary, 5:00pm
Game 14: if necessary, 45 minutes after conclusion of Game 13

Saturday, May 24 - Championship Game
TBA vs. TBA, 4:00pm (Watch: ESPN3) 

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WSET. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.